who and what are behind my supper?

I’m trying to stick with my resolution to think about what makes me happy to be alive and remember to tap into the gratitude I feel around it. I looked down at my supper tonight and was giving thanks to all the creatures and all the plants that had given their lives so that I could eat what I was about to eat. Then I thought further and thanked the farmers.

Once I thought about the farmers, I had to include the pickers, and the washers, packers, drivers, receivers, (breath) the shelvers, the checkout clerks, the delivery people … and, I think that’s it. Oh, and the fishermen. And that’s for the food that isn’t processed. If I had put cheese into what I was eating, I would have had to thank a whole slew of other people.

I sat looking at my supper for a while before I ate it, appreciating how many people had been involved in getting a simple meal onto my table. Sure, academically I knew all of this already, but today I was just doing my regular blessing of my food before I ate it. I realized that it’s not as simple as it looks. I think I need to rephrase my blessing for tomorrow.

This entry was posted in food, gratitude. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to who and what are behind my supper?

  1. souldipper says:

    Lucca, you entered the mystical world of ‘mindfulness’ so beautifully. Thanks for writing about it. It’s so easy to simply glaze over and pay no mind to it.

  2. Lucca says:

    Yes, that’s just what it is: mindfulness. I feel the urge to turn it elsewhere as well.

Leave a Reply

