Gratitude and giving ourselves hope

The Hope

The Hope: A Guide to Sacred Activism

I’ve heard it said that we focus our energy on, we draw to ourselves. Like attracts like. Lately I’ve noticed myself feeling frustrated about what I notice in the world around me. No need to go into the details here because I’d like to change the pattern – of noticing and talking about what I have noticed – and instead move my focus to something more positive.

I’m reading a book right now called The Hope: a Guide to Sacred Activism. I will review it as soon as I finish it but let me share with you what I read in the first chapter. The author, Andrew Harvey, suggests that there are ten things that we can do, immediately, to bring wise and compassionate action into our lives.  He suggest that the first be to:

Write down one thing that has made you feel grateful to be alive today. It could be something as simple as the taste of the bagel you had for breakfast or the sight of squirrels gamboling in the snow in the park. Get a small notebook and make the commitment to continue writing down one thing every day that lights you up with joy. At the end of the month, sit down and read the list out loud, slowly, to yourself. You will discover that it reminds you how blessed you are just by being alive in a world full of ordinary wonders. You will discover, too, that it awakens in you a passion for life and a hunger to protect and preserve it.

Yesterday I took out my notebook and wrote down …

Day One: Today I am grateful for the fresh, organic, tasty, healthy food that I am eating in this our harvest season.

That’s my start. It felt good to make the start, to be positive and real, and truthful. And today? I wrote…

Day Two: Today I am grateful for all the caring and genuine friends in my life.

So far, so good. Maybe you’d like to give it a try.

This entry was posted in attention, hope, manifestation, passion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

