Where I’ve been lately

I haven’t written here in a long time and I have been missing both the process of writing and the content. When I asked myself why I haven’t felt inspired to write, I honestly didn’t know why. It’s not because I don’t have anything to say; I ALWAYS have something to say! Last night I finally lit on what’s behind the lack of inspiration: There is so much information for me to digest at the moment that I have been inarticulate.

Often I write in order to hasten the digestion process but I have found that this time my tried-and-true technique isn’t working. Over the past few months, I have been stretching myself and learning on several different fronts. Here’s a taster:

Intellectually

I’ve been reading about alternative economic systems, including alternative forms of currency. The latest book is called Agenda for a New Economy. (I’ll review it as soon as I’ve finished it.) Another book I have on the go is Your Money or Your Life. And there were two before that. Each book is taking me further into the nuances of the topic and I haven’t digested it enough yet to be able to explain what I think or even how I feel. Overall, I can say that what I’ve read so far is confirming everything I always thought about our economic systems and didn’t know how to put into words. You’ll have to stay tuned on this one. There’s more to come!

What I'm reading at the moment - no review yet!

What I'm reading at the moment - no review yet!

Emotionally

I’d have to say that I’m feeling more grounded and less fearful than I have for a long time. Not that I have ever gone about my life swathed in fear. I don’t think that’s ever been how I approach the world. But I’m feeling that even though the world appears to be in a terrible mess, I am hopeful that we can see our way clear to work it out.

Physically

I’ve been working with a talented yoga instructor/facilitator who is leading me back into my body so gently that I don’t want to run screaming in the other direction. I am feeling connected to my body in a way I haven’t felt since I was a child. Each week, we go in a little deeper and I feel a little more trust building between my heart and my body. I had a session with her tonight and felt so blessed to be able to connect in ways that I don’t even know how to put into words. For anyone local to Vancouver who might like to work with her, she is just finishing off the last piece of her latest training. As soon as she is ready to take more clients, or run classes, I will let you know.

Spiritually

This is where I feel the most going on, although I believe it’s connected with my body and the yoga I’m doing. I’m not even sure I know how to put this into words. There are some things that I know in my bones and I see what I know as a spiritual extension of myself. I think I’m doing a lot of work in the ‘dreamtime’ and it is helping me to piece things together while I’m awake. Let me take a stab at explaining some of what I ‘know’…

What are we measuring?

When I watch the news, I hear so many stories that reflect the ways in which we measure the state of our economy and the health of our communities. I ‘know’ that the indicators are no longer reflecting the factors that will be useful to us in surviving the situation we’re in.

While there is surely more debt, more business failures, higher unemployment and fear is running rampant, I ‘know’ that interest rates, GDP, stock values, car sales and housing starts are not what will allow us to survive. What we have always survived on, since the beginning of time, is our skill, knowledge, talent, creativity, inspiration, sharing, and sense of community.

Our lives are not about Wall Street, even though Wall Street would like us to think so. Our lives are about eating nourishing food, getting fresh air and exercise, living with people we love, getting effective and affordable health care when we need it, making beautiful and useful things, using our talents and bringing up happy, responsible, creative children. We want to be secure and healthy in our old age and set things up so our children can be too.

Profit vs a habitat

More growth and more profit to keep ‘shareholders’ happy isn’t going to take care of our forests, our air, our rivers and our oceans. If we keep growing the way we are, we won’t have a planet left to make a profit on. The way we have our world economy set up isn’t working for the few of us who thought we were the ‘developed’ world, never mind everyone else who is going without while we have more. The way I look at it, it’s very simple: We have to find a better way.

Hope

We can, we are and we will find creative ways to survive and flourish. I am encouraged to see how many stories I have found on the internet about people who are quietly going about doing things differently. Here are a few examples:

I listened to a podcast yesterday of a guy in California who is helping people get out of crippling debt. (James Martinez).

I was also watching a video on YouTube about cold fusion which is being explored as a potential clean energy source of the future.

And the last thing I looked at yesterday was a group calling themselves Imagine This! TV. They’re trying to make reality TV that matters, instead of reality TV that is just entertainment. I am encouraged by people who make TV that educates and inspires.

I hope I’m leaving you with some things to think about. I encourage each of you to have faith in whatever it is that you do best and to share it with as many people as you can. I know in my heart that it’s what we’re here for.

Blessings, Lucca

This entry was posted in alternative, change, change-makers, community, compassion, economic systems, fear, global issues, gut feel, hope, inner knowing, paradigm shift, transition, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

