In the dark of the year

I endeavour to conduct my professional life in a way that’s in keeping with my values of respecting the time, energy and intelligence of my clients as well as a belief that what we practice in the world will return to us threefold. This is called the ‘law of threefold return’.

Experience tells me that word of mouth is the best form of publicity for the sorts of services I offer. If my clients value the service I provide, they talk about it to their friends, family and colleagues. I have always believed that the best form of promotion is the recommendation of a person who has had first-hand experience – especially when it comes to something as personal as counseling and coaching and readings.

No junk-mail from me!
What this means to you is that I deliberately avoid bombarding you with advertising and promotions, reserving gently informative emails for the rare occasions when I have a special offer. Instead, I try to remain true to the same spirit of service that drives my practice, by posting my blog and hoping that the subjects I write about will be of use to my clientele, past, present and future. Further, I hope that the blog will keep you thinking about your emotional and spiritual health, and of course that you will think of me when and if you decide that you would like some professional support.

It’s getting darker out there
Which leads me to the ‘dark of the year’ which is already upon us. This is the time of year when we become more ‘inner’, and paradoxically, when we are often the most busy in our whirlwind outer lives. In honour of your ‘inner self’, I encourage you to plan some time during the dark of the year to slow down and shine some light on the places in your soul that need a little gentle attention, or even a major clear-out.

A better world is on the horizon
I am feeling encouraged by the outcome of the US presidential election because I think that it represents a freedom cry that will rally those of us who are weary of our current dysfunctional global systems and give us hope that we can actually change things for the better. There are those who say that this present time is similar to the 60’s with Martin Luther King and the huge levels of social change afoot at that time, but I believe that we have come even further than that, and that we are within sight of the land of which he dreamed. Not that we’re there yet, but we have it within our scope!

To get to our long-dreamed-of place of equality, peace and prosperity for all, we are each going to have to reach deep within our souls, encourage our best selves to come out, and make our own unique contributions. Now is not the time for the sort of cynicism that protects us from disappointment, no matter how many times we’ve had our hopes dashed in the past. We’re in the final lap of the race and we need to harness what’s left of our courage and pull out all the stops.

I believe that every single one of us makes a difference and that the time to make that difference is NOW. There’s a wonderful book by Dr. Seuss, his last one, called Oh, the Places You’ll Go!, given to me by a very dear friend many years ago. I find it a constant source of inspiration. It talks about the courage it takes to walk into the unknown. It says the following about being scared to go on:

But on you will go
though the weather be foul.
On you will go
though your enemies prowl.
On you will go
though the Hakken-Kraks howl.
Onward up many
a frightening creek,
though your arms may get sore
and your sneakers may leak.

At the end of the book, he asks if we will succeed and his answer is:

Yes! You will indeed!
(98 and 3/4 percent guaranteed.)
KID YOU’LL MOVE MOUNTAINS!

Take the plunge!
What mountain do you need to move? Or do you have a dear friend, or colleague who is struggling with mountain ‘removal’? I will shamelessly promote myself here as a great person to help with mountains – when you get to the point of wanting to identify yours, or if you’re actually ready to roll up your sleeves and get to work – I’m your woman! So today I’d like to leave you with that thought… Make a plan, take a step, commit yourself. We can move mountains, but it takes personal courage. We can do it!

This entry was posted in change, fear, hope, promo, transition. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

