Creating doors

Welcome to my first official blog for all of you who have been in contact with me over the last few years. I invite you to be a part of this cyber-community of like-minded folk.

I had the feeling about a month ago that I was a little robot who’s become stuck marching into a wall. My frustration level with the lack of forward movement in some areas of my life was mounting. I feared I might just keep marching until my batteries run out. I said this to someone who suggested very matter-of-factly that I create a door in my wall and walk through to see what’s on the other side. I’ve given that suggestion a great deal of thought and I’ve concluded that the best way to make a door is to do what makes my heart sing – which happens to be communicating.

Shortly after that, one of my oldest and dearest friends closed down her old blog and started a new one. That was the next clue for making a door … create a blog. Since then I have figured out how to do it and done a little practicing. I hope this will serve to remove some of the glitches that occasionally pop up when I try to do something new.

I will start my blogging by saying that I believe that 2007 is the tipping point that I have been awaiting for a long time. When you get to the tipping point it only takes one more thought, one more action, one more voice, one more question, to finally make the difference.

For many years I felt as though I was whistling in the dark and hoping I wasn’t alone. Book stores didn’t carry the kinds of books that I found interesting. There was no ticky-box on forms for the profession I was in. I had to explain the terms and language I used in conversation because otherwise no one could follow what I was trying to explain.

But now, I am at long last encouraged to see that things are beginning to shift. There are people on mainstream network television who do what I’ve done for years. There are whole book stores full of what I like to read. I can even get some of these books in my library! Reiki doesn’t have to come with an explanation attached. There are schools that teach coaching. Something is shifting and it seems to be in the right direction.

Blogging has arrived in the mainstream and I can use it to talk directly to the people who think there is value in connecting our spirits to our daily lives, and even to our careers. This is progress and we should celebrate it by talking to one another. In an effort to do just this, I will endeavour to post to this blog once a week. Please feel free to comment and make this a two-way process.

For this week, I will leave you with a great question… How can you create a door in your wall?

This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

